Having only moved house in the last couple of weeks, I’m still adjusting to my new digs, and having my own (albeit tiny) crafting space which is kind of still under construction. So there’s not been a huge amount of making lately. I’m going to blame my stash.

Yep, I’m blaming my lack of creativity on the very items I am supposed to be creating with.

It’s like this. My stash has been in storage for the best part of the last 6 months. So as I have been unpacking it over the last few weeks, I’ve become a bit overwhelmed with it all. So many things to make! So many plans and patterns! Where do I start??

Well, I’m not going to start with a picture of a perfect frilly floral crafting space. I’m sure you’ve seen them all over Pinterest, and they are very pretty and sweet, but I just don’t work that way. Instead I’m going to share a cute story of 80’s retro serendipity.

A while back, my Auntie made muumuu’s for me and my sisters. Check out this mad 80’s print:

DSCF8447

I love it! I admit I have a bit of a thing for crazy prints – remember this shirt? I’d wear this as a beach cover-up any day. Can’t get enough of that print? Here’s a closeup.

DSCF8448

So, last weekend all three of the makebakesisters happened to spend the weekend together in celebration of my mumble-mumblieth birthday. Allison brought some cool stuff down for me from home, including an old suitcase of Kylie’s:

DSCF8449

It has potential.

And a stack of retro craft magazines:

DSCF8450

Leafing through one of the magazines – Handmade September/October 1987, in fact – that one on the right – I came across a picture that had me leaping to my feet yelling ‘No way!!!’

I raced in to my closet and dug out the muumuu so I could compare it to this picture:

80's print dress0001

Do You See What I See?  Yep, it’s the same print! I just love serendipity like this.

I think some 80’s music might be appropriate right now.