I have an absurd amount of cashews in the pantry right now (oh wait, I don’t have a pantry. Wishful thinking and creative license going hand in hand there – it sounds so much better than “in a plastic tub in the cupboard”).  I’d love to say I found them at a farmer’s market, or a roadside produce stall, or spin another equally entertaining tale of fresh food gathering, but the truth is, they were on sale at the supermarket recently.

So having bought three enormous bags of nuts, I had to decide what to do with them. I’ve had chopped cashews on my porridge, cashews in stir-fry, and even tried a batch of home-made cashew butter. Today, I had an urge for oat cookies. For a recipe that was very much a case of “throw in a bit of this, then add a bit of that, hmm, it’s a bit dry, let’s add an egg” I am rather pleased with them. They’re soft but chewy, just a touch squidgy in the middle, with chunky cashew bits studded through them. Mmmm. Don’t ask me how many I ate when they were still fresh from the oven…

Chewy Cashew-Oat Cookies

125g salt-reduced butter

2 tablespoons golden syrup

175g rolled oats (not instant)

150g plain flour

115g brown sugar

1 teas bicarb soda

1/2 – 2/3 cup cashews, roughly chopped (around 60-85g)

1/2 teas vanilla

1 egg, beaten

Method:

Preheat oven to 180C. Line a large baking sheet or two standard baking sheets with baking paper or a silicon liner.

Melt butter with golden syrup. Set aside to cool while mixing oats, flour, brown sugar, bicarb soda and cashews in a large bowl. Stir vanilla into butter mix then add to dry ingredients and mix well with a wooden spoon. Add beaten egg and stir well to combine thoroughly.  Roll into balls the size of a large walnut.

Place on tray and flatten slightly.

Bake for approximately 12 minutes, until cookies are golden but still a little soft to touch. Cool on rack.

Makes 18.

