Some may find this strange. I have an entire drawer in my freezer entirely for chocolate and nuts. Walnuts, peanuts, pecans, almonds, almond meal, hazelnuts, macadamias, brazils; chocolate melts, chocolate chips, white, milk, dark, sugar-free 70% cocoa.

I buy my nuts at a nut shop/warehouse where the minimum purchase is 500g. The prices are very friendly so I buy in bulk. And, well, I like nuts. But I keep them in the freezer so they don’t go rancid before they get used. And the chocolate, well, you just never know when you will have the urge to make brownies.

could these be any brownie-er?I think I am a comfort baker. Work has been pretty crazy manic and on the weekend I went a bit nuts.

Luckily, I work with a bunch of young, hardworking and hungry people. At 9.30am, the cookie jar looked like this.

At 11.30am, the cookie jar looked like this.

eat them! eat them ALL!Two different takes on a banana-oatmeal cookie, and a weird sort of no-bake truffle slice involving crushed banana chips, coconut biscuts, candied pinapple and white chocolate. It would have been truffles, but I couldn’t be bothered rolling it into balls, so it became a slice.

Then, later that night, I had a go at these Triple Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies from Spache the Spatula, who I will definitely be visiting again – there was a peanut butter chocolate swirl banana cake that caught my eye…

I wish my photos were prettier.I didn’t have the white chocolate peanut butter, and I didn’t have any Nutella so I melted some milk chocolate into some crunchy peanut butter, and then accidentally put waaaaay too much into the mixture. Nor did I have the peanut butter chips (I WISH!!)  so I just did dark and white on top. And, instead of plain flour, I used half buckwheat flour and half oat flour (I chuck oatmeal in the blender to make that). I love the texture that blended oats give to cookies and slices, so I thought it was worth a try. And, YUM! So even though it wasn’t the same three chocolates, it was still triple choc.

The guys at work kindly helped me out in disposing of them, and the reports were good. Bakaholic strikes again.

