An undisclosed MakeBakeSister reached an undisclosed age on a recent yet – astonishingly – undisclosed day. I made her these mitts because being cold is bad. Very bad. Especially when you are OLD.

(Don’t tell her I said that.)

The pattern is called Fetching, I found it here on Ravelry. It is available there for free thanks to Cheryl Niamath. More than 15000 people have made these mitts. How awesome!

They are great because the cables make them snug around the wrist and knuckles, and they widen for the hand section without any change of stitch numbers. I used a thumb gusset alternative that is detailed in the comments section of the pattern on Ravelry. I also made one mitt on circular needles but I can’t entirely get rid of that ladderlike wider stitch where the two sets of needles meet. My bad. So I made the second mitt on straights and seamed it up. No worries.

I’m happy with how these turned out and will make this pattern again.

The wool I used was Sean Sheep Rockbank. I picked it up on sale at BigW, so I suppose it isn’t a swanky luxury yarn but it is very nice and soft. It’s 70% wool and 30% soybean. So if you get trapped in a blizzard, these may be edible. I have no idea what if any benefit there is to adding soy to wool, but it feels nice.

It was a 400g mega-skein, and I am also working on some felted slippers that I will post about one distant day. There’s plenty left. My only regret is that I didn’t snag the red skein that was on sale at the same time!

