Today’s lunch was one of those “throw leftovers together” meals. I have three favorite ways of using up the bits and pieces in the fridge: soup, fritters or muffins. Today I went for option three and made gluten-free muffins. Surprisingly good – although I think I’d leave the bamboo shoots out next time.

Because it really was a case of “throw this in… oh and that too”, I don’t have exact quantities for the extras, but leftover muffins are always going to be about throwing in what you have, not what I had, so here’s the rough recipe just for inspiration.

GLUTEN-FREE LUNCH MUFFINS

2 cups purchased gluten-free SR flour

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/2 teas xantham gum

1/2 teas baking powder

1 teas salt

2 eggs

1 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1-2 cups leftover cold meat or vegetables (in my case, about half a cup of chopped iceberg lettuce; 6 or so green beans fined chopped; a few baby brussel sprouts, chopped; about 1/4 cup bamboo shoots, roughly chopped; a small piece of cold roast beef, cut into small sticks)

Preheat oven to 200C. Spray a 12-cup muffin tray with oil.

Stir dry ingredients together. And meat and veg and stir in. Mix wet ingredients together then stir into dry mixture.  Place in muffin cups, then cook for approximately 20 minutes, until springy to the touch and turning golden on top.

Remove from tray and cool on rack.

