I’ve been knitting in the round, so now I’m crocheting in the square. I took a fancy to this Cat’s Claw afghan square pattern so I made it up with some cheap acrylic. Rather happy with it! (Do ignore the unwoven in ends tucked under the squares, I’ll get to that eventually.) The claw effect is added when crocheting the outer rows of claw colour, the claws sit on top of the inner rows which makes for an interesting texture and depth.

And then I thought, hmmm, I don’t want four of those in a cushion, I want a different pattern. So I found this Friendship Ring pattern, which I followed to round 2 of the outer square (dark brown) and then went my own way because I wanted it smaller and less lacy. The rings are cool and not so complicated, but you do end up with a lot of ends to weave in. At least on this square I have actually woven them in!

Definitely no good for a blanket with these big holes in the square:

Both these patterns were intended for worsted yarn but I used DK/8 ply and a 4.5mm hook.

