So it turns out that Aldi sell a yoghurt maker and packets of yoghurt powder. Cool, I thought, I’ll have a go at that in my Easiyo yoghurt maker. The vanilla one turned out quite nice, if a tiny bit runnier than I like. The low-fat version, sadly, turned out VERY runny, and lot more like gloopy sour milk. Tasted like gloopy sour milk too. I tried eating it but it was too gloopy.

Hoarder that I am, I couldn’t bear to just chuck it out. Luckily, there was a birthday in the office – I do currently hold the position of Office Baker, so there was my excuse to bake a cake and make everyone else eat it.

Thus, the creation of the Gloopy Yoghurt Chocolate Chip Cake.

The recipe I adapted used sour cream, so of course the gloopy yoghurt was a perfect subsititute. Apparently this recipe is very popular in the U.S. It didn’t rise a great deal, turning out more like a slice than a cake, but the top went crunchy and slightly toffee’d, the bottom went chewy and slightly caramelised, and the middle went light and cakey. Lurvely!

Unfortunately the only photo I took was just before I put it in the oven. I forgot to take my camera to work, so I did take a picture with my phone, but do you think I can find the cable that connects my camera to my laptop? Noooo.

  • 125g softened butter
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 300g gloopy yoghurt
  • 1 ½ cups plain flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • 250g chocolate melts, broken into bits
  • 1 tbsp white sugar

Preheat oven to 180ºC. Grease and line a 20cm square cake tin.

Using my you-beaut Sunbeam Mixmaster with it’s handy little removable handheld top, I beat the butter and castor sugar until creamy. Beat in eggs one at a time. Beat in gloopy yoghurt. It looked a little curdled at this point, but I just beat the heck out of it. Sift flour, baking powder & soda and fold into yoghurt mixture.

Spread about 2-thirds of the mix on the bottom of the cake tin. Sprinkle with half of the choc melts, then cover with the remaining batter, then top with the remaining choc bits. Sprinkle with the white sugar.

Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Cool in tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a rack.

I dusted with icing sugar but if you were feeling very decadent you could serve with whipped cream. It would probably be rather good served warm with ice-cream.

