I was paid in yarn to make this skirt for a young girl. The pattern is freely available, which is pretty amazing for a pattern this cute. The yarn to make the skirt with was also supplied to me, it’s a Moda Vera merino blend that sells at Spotlight. It’s a great colour (and nearly the same as the original pattern), but it isn’t a lovely soft yarn. It might soften with washing. Often a yarn that feels a bit harsher to start with ends up being sturdier, which is good for a child’s skirt!

Here’s the finished skirt, marvel at its awesomeness:

I wish I could keep this and enter it in the Show!

Progress details & pics through the post-break.I started this on the 9th of October and finished it on the 26th, which makes it two weeks and a couple of days – pretty good going I think. Especially when you consider that there are 288 stitches per row for the last several inches of that skirt!

This first section took less than a week. The top edge is folded over and knitted together to form a casing for elastic, something I can imagine using again.

The ‘seamlines’ are created by using a pearl stitch every second row. For some reason the pattern for the top section instructs to make increases right beside this pearl line. As you can see, this makes the pearl line kind of wonky. If I was doing this again I’d make those increases elsewhere. Below the lace panel the increases become a feature (evenly spaced little holes), which looks cool.

Also it should be noted that if you want the skirt to be longer than the pattern, up in this top section would be a great place to add some of the rows.  If you find that out after you’ve done the part pictured above, then you have to add much longer rows at the bottom end!

So, anyway, clickedy clickedy through an awful lot of stocking stitch, and finally I arrive at the lace edging. This is my first experience of knitted lace edging. Maybe all knitted lace edging sucks? Surely not. I’ve knitted some lace that is pretty and delicate. This stuff is as elegant as dog tongue.  The pattern lacks rhythm and flow. However, the finished product works visually.

The lace edging took about as long to do as the entire top half of the skirt!

If you want finer progress details of progress, check my project page at Ravelry.

