How long does it take an one Irishman to change a lightbulb? I don’t know.  How long does it take a tribe of techs to fix one laptop? Seven weeks. Yes, almost two months have I been frustrated, annoyed and deprived while the laptop’s been in the shop. A dead motherboard, a fried transformer…  not so bad, but add in a faulty replacement motherboard, another fault that required fixing and a parts supplier who’d make a turtle look like Usain Bolt – well.

So I have been unable to tell you about the oh-my-GOD good Paris Prest I made:

 

This involved choux pastry, homemade praline paste (that wasn’t in the recipe, I just decided to give it a try – it’s like making peanut butter from nut brittle), toffee chards, and creme patissiere. It took the better part of a day. It was worth it (you’ll find the recipe in Stephane Reynaud’s latest book, 365 Reasons to Sit Down and Eat and the praline paste recipe here http://www.theworldwidegourmet.com/recipes/praline-paste/

This is what praline paste looks like – and yes, it’s quite edible just spoon by spoon…

 

Nor have I been able to share my not-so-successful attempt at gluten-free shortbread:


 

Nor this totally indulgent slice:

 

About which I shall post more another time!

So no recipes, this time, merely evidence that I have been making and baking during the hiatus.

 

 

 

 

 

