Last night I made carrot-zucchini loaf. Since it didn’t come out of the oven until after 10pm, I restrained myself from eating any. (This would not always be the case, you understand. Late night baking is normal, and so is late night baking sampling. But 10pm was later than usual, and there’s something to be said for anticipation.)

I based it on this recipe for Low-Fat Zucchini Bread. All the fervently happy comments made it seem likely to be a winner, and it is. It has that satisfyingly chewy-dense texture that doesn’t trip over the edge into stodge; it’s sweet, but not too sweet for me; and despite a taste-texture combination that’s nicely indulgent, it’s not too bad on the kilojoule count (see note below). And even better, it’s one of those “just mix it all together” recipes. It does take longer than the 5 minutes prep time given to measure everything and grate the zucchini and carrot, but not much longer.

I took heed of several suggestions to cut back on the sugar and eliminate the oil. I also tweaked the flour a little. My version therefore used 1 1/2 cups sugar; 1 cup wholemeal SR flour + 2 cups plain flour (total 450g, for those who prefer to weigh flour, as I do); and one cup of applesauce, no oil. I also used 1 teas cinnamon and 1 teas nutmeg instead of the tablespoon of cinnamon (the spices weren’t obvious, so if you like to really be able to tell there’s cinnamon, perhaps try the full amount), and reduced the vanilla to one teaspoon. And as I only had one zucchini, I used that and one carrot. Didn’t bother peeling it. Together, that made about 2 1/2 cups grated vegetable.

I put it all in one large loaf tin, but the cooking time was still about right – my loaf took 58minutes.

This is definitely going into the “keeper” recipe file.

NOTE: Allowing for less sugar, no oil and more applesauce, this works out to about 145cal or 601kJ per serve (24 serves in total).

