Here is a scarf I recently finished. I made it for another Ravelry member via the Work For Yarn thread. The yarn is Ixchell Baby Shetland/Angora Bunny fingering weight, hand dyed by Charly at Ixchellbunny. Check out her blog for the yumy blingy fibre and wool she released recently!

The pattern is Three Sisters Scarves # Three (which I thought very appropriate for blogging here) and is available free here on Ravelry.

So, here’s the scarf in it’s final glory. I’ll put progress pics on the other side of the click-for-more link if you are interested, or you can check out my Rav project page here.

I have entered this scarf in Ixchell’s February Competition. You can go to this thread on Rav and vote for your favourite entry. Which I hope will be mine as I could win some yummy yarn. But in honesty there are such gorgeous things entered, I was floored to notice yesterday that I was equal first in love-clicks! Alas I have since been headed off by a jaw-dropping wedding shawl. But it’s nice to see that my work is considered worth voting for, especially amoungs such inspiring entries. Very encouraging.

Scarf in a TreeSo, here’s how it started out

Then it grew, but notice it still looks scrunchy

Then I waited until my darling husband wasn’t there to defend his side of the bed, and I blocked the scarf. (“That means wetting it and pinning it out so it goes all nice and flat and pretty.)

After blocking it stays all flat and pretty when you take the pins out. Until you go out in the rain.

I’m very happy with how it turned out, and I’m sure its owner will be once I get it posted to her.

Oh, and here is the yarn I was ‘paid’ in – 100g purple alpaca lace-weight, and a small ball of orange silk fingering.

Work For Yarn earned yarn

