Ever since I saw a project on Burdastyle about making your own fabric-covered shoes, I wanted to give it a try. I didn’t have any shoes in my wardrobe that I was willing to potentially destroy in the process, so I’ve been haunting the opshops looking for something suitable. (If you know me at all, you’ll know that haunting opshops wasn’t really that much of a challenge for me!!)

Anyway I found these at a Salvos Store – on half-price shoe day, no less!

Cute shape, but yep, the first thing I did was rip off the ugly ruffley bits.

Then I used this tutorial as a guide, although I did a few things different. (Okay, for some reason I cannot get a hyperlink to work on this, so: http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/fabric-covered-shoes-make-your-own)

In progress…


The tutorial used a self-adhesive fabric or removable spray-on adhesive, but I have not seen either of those things in my local craft haunts. Possibly I’m not looking in the right places, but anyhoo, instead I used a cheap spray glue that I already had (that from past experience I know is almost completely useless, so I knew I would be able to stick it on and then peel it off 5 minutes later! ) I sprayed the glue onto small pieces of plain white cotton, stuck them on sections of the shoe, drew around them and peeled them off. Voila – pattern! (Then I cleaned the shoes with some eucalyptus oil so I had a clean surface to glue onto.)

I decided a little bit of topstitching wouldn’t go astray, so after I notched all the edges of my pieces, I ironed under the lower edges and topstitched them. Then when I glued them on, I worked from the bottom edge up, folding the fabric over the top edge of the shoe.

The process of gluing on the fabric only took a couple of hours, but waiting for them to cure so I can wear them is interminable!

I also did a little ‘facing’ around the inside of the shoe, to neaten up the notched, folded-over fabric. Thanks to my awesome flatmate for suggesting the suede scraps I had in my stash!

Now I am treating them with some waterproofing spray and trying to figure out what dress I can wear them with!

I am inordinately proud of myself.

