Seriously. Don’t make them. Cos if you make them, you will eat them. Then not only will you have eaten way too many cookies, you will have to make more because all your friends and family will want to eat them. This is what happened to me.

This was the only picture I took of the first batch, which I made according to this recipe. They are not difficult to make but time-consuming because you have to chill the dough before baking. So not a good choice for a last-minute cookie craving.

I took most of them to work and they disappeared in about 30 seconds flat. They were so insanely good I decided to make another batch a week later. Sadly I had run out of walnuts but had a big bag of pecans in the freezer. I am a big fan of pecans. Have you ever eaten frozen pecans? Quite delightful.

These were also insanely good. Making the toffee nuts was actually pretty easy, although when I made the pecans I didn’t boil it quite long enough before adding the nuts, and it went a little candied; but that didn’t matter, because when you add them to the cookie dough and bake them, they melt again and toffee up just fine.

The first time around, I made the full batch of toffee’d nuts and then looked at the recipe and thought “I do not need 3-4 dozen cookies”. So I halved the recipe and ended up with probably over 2 dozen. I think perhaps I made them a little smaller than the original recipe.

Oh, and if you are like me, you will look at the recipe and go “aaargh, how much is ‘one stick’ of butter??” Rest easy, folks, for the CWA Cookbook came to my rescue again. Two ‘sticks’ of butter equals one cup of butter, and according to Lady Campbell, 1 cup of shortening is 250g. (I’ve been meaning to make up a handy conversion chart to laminate & stick on the fridge. Maybe I’ll get around to that one day.)

One last time. Don’t make these cookies. It’s for the best.

