I have been having a bit of a polka dot craze for a while. I mean, who doesn’t love polka dots? They just make you smile!

Anyway, I bought this fairly unimpressive dress at a Smith Family Store a while back, entirely on the premise that it was pink with polka dots.

It took a while for me to find the right use for it, but good old Burda Style came up with the goods with this pretty pencil skirt. It’s clearly designed for someone with less curves than me but that didn’t stop me from creating this:

Because the dress had princess seam lines, I had my work cut out for me (hah! pun intended!) to match up the seam lines on the skirt and yoke. Apart from that the skirt was actually not that hard to put together, once I read the instructions about a million times. Oh, and the invisible zipper, which is only my second ever, and is, well, mostly invisible.

This outfit is totally op-shopped, by the way. The skirt, obviously. The blouse, which sadly doesn’t show too well in the pictures, is a black georgette with hot pink piping around the cute little oriental collar. It’s a totally different pink to the skirt but somehow it worked. Vinnie’s, $8! And the shoes, which are Tony Bianco and have a sexy cork platform, only cost me $10 at the Cat Protection Society Op Shop.

Of course, I haven’t got the hang of taking decent pictures with a tripod and the timer on my camera, so I chucked them into photoshop (which I don’t actually know how to use) and gave them a bit of a vintage look. Enjoy!

