One day, whilst hanging out in an op shop (surprise!) I saw a cotton sheet in a cute floral print – faded, but charming. I thought, hmm, I could use that to try making a shirt dress.

I’m really happy with the result.

Cotton sheet: $4, Vinnies

Purple Buttons: $1.50, Cat Protection Society Op Shop

Stay tape: from a bag of miscellaneous haberdashery, Vinnies, $6

Thread: from my stash

Ta-daaah!!!

Oh, and the belt was from Vinnies too – $4.

I used a fitted shirt pattern (McCalls 2094) which I shortened to the waist and then just added a length of fabric gathered to fit. The shirt has turned-up cuffs which kind of don’t show in the picture. Buttons, buttonholes – voila!

Even the picnic rug and the 78’s we were listening to (see the portable record player?) were from various op shops! What a perfect day!

