side viewJust thought I’d share this cheesecake I made for a New Year party I went to. It’s simply a cheesecake with blackberry topping. I made a recipe-and-a-half of a regular cheesecake (in this case, 375g philly cheese, 1.5 cans sweetened condensed milk, about 80ml lemon juice, 3/4 cup of thickened cream, and about 10g of gelatin powder dissolved in a couple of tablespoons of hot water.)

Make the cheesecake in a suitable dish, so that you are left with a ‘dam wall’ that will contain your jelly until it sets properly. I used a large fluted pie tin.

The topping: drain a can of Blackberries in Syrup, collecting the syrup and making a jelly from it using a couple of teaspoons of gelatin. Let that cool in a bowl until it is thick but still pourable. Meanwhile, pile the really well drained blackberries in the middle of the cheesecake (or whatever placement tickles your artistic fancy), and then put that in the fridge so the berries are cold when you pour the jelly on. Reason? The cold berries help the jelly set, so you end up with a shiny coating of jelly over the berries instead of it all running off onto the cheesecake.

 

Things I learned:

If I put jelly in the fridge to partially set, I will always forget it. But that’s okay because a quick visit to the microwave makes short work of jelly.

Dissolved gelatine tends to start setting immediately if you add it to a mixture that is cold because you just beat in a large serve of cream straight from the fridge. That means you get little strings of set gelatine through your cheesecake. I know this is common because I ate someone else’s cheesecake at the party, and theirs was the same! I suggest letting the cream sit out for a while. But not long enough to poison you. In fact I intend to try a short burst in the microwave to bring it close to room temperature, but I haven’t tested that yet. Cream is tricky. But this recipe doesn’t call for whipped cream, so it should be okay.

It was good, too.

