What’s not to love about oats? They taste great (porridge, Anzac biscuits, chewy oat slice, granola…) AND they’re good for you too. Lots of healthy fibre, rich in beta-glucan to help keep cholesterol under control, etc etc.

So eating an oaty biscuit feels kinda healthy… even if that biscuit is full of peanut butter.

Now, at this point, before I point you to today’s recipe, I have to make a confession. It’s not today’s recipe. I made these a little while ago, took some shots and then – yep, nothing. Pictures sat on camera, blog post not posted. Usual story of my blogging life recently. Tonight, after battling unexpectedly heavy traffic to get home (it’s school holidays, there shouldn’t be any traffic. There was NO traffic this morning. But tonight, almost gridlocked, at least for the first 15 minutes or so) and then dealing with the new kitten’s little accident (not quite toilet trained after all), I’d run out of time and oomph for baking.

So here’s one from my black hole of baking: Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies. Although my version should be called Oatmeal Sun Butter Cookies, because I discovered when I went to make them that I’d almost no peanut butter left! So I made up the difference with sunflower butter (if you haven’t tried it, it tastes surprisingly like peanut butter, so I think the taste of the bikkies – er, cookies – wouldn’t have been that different) and threw in a handful of white choc chips. They are, as the original post said, chewy, moreish and slightly sweet, although I’d describe the flavor as nicely peanutty, rather than strongly peanutty.

 

Image

 

You know, I think there are still some in the freezer! Guess what I’m off to do now? (Yes, I will gently warm a cookie in the microwave. Sacrilege? Not in my book. At least not with cookies. Bread? Now that’s a whole different ballgame.) Kettle, cuppa and cookie, here I come.

