Some dishes are great for using up those bits and pieces lurking in the fridge.

Last night, I made mayonnaise, so I was left with three egg whites in the fridge. There were also some capsicums (bell peppers) that needed using up. So tonight’s dinner was started this morning, to save me time when I got home from work. I chopped the capsicums in half and threw them under the grill. When they were nicely blackened, I put them into a plastic bag, let them steam, then stripped the skins off. Into the fridge they went.

Tonight, they added lovely color to my dinner – a dairy-free egg strata.

Image

1 large white bread-roll (a day or two old is good)

1/2 cup chopped chargrilled capsicum

1/2 cup chopped zucchini

3 eggs

3 egg whites

1 cup rice milk (or other dairy or non-dairy milk)

1/2 teas salt

generous pinch of pepper

pinch of onion powder

2 tab nutritional yeast

1/4 cup grated dairy-free cheddar (I used Cheezly cheddar)

Preheat oven to 170C. Chop bread into 1 to 1.5cm cubes and place in an oven-proof baking dish. Scatter capsicum and zucchini over bread. Beat eggs, egg whites, milk, salt, pepper, onion powder and nutritional yeast together in a jug. Pour mixture over bread and vegetables.

Scatter grated cheese over the top, then bake for 40 minutes.

Serve.

(Serves 2-3 as a meal, depending on how hungry you are!)

Would I make this again? Absolutely. For a “throw it together, see if it works” dinner, this gets a big thumbs up. The crusty bread bits on the top, the melting cheese ( I have to confess, I think real cheese would be even better, but it’s still pretty good), the soft, slightly charry capsicum… a great dinner, for hardly any effort. And a great way to clean a few things out of the fridge!

 

Image

