Recently I discovered a ‘new’ local opshop – ‘new’ in that I’d not been there before, but I don’t think it had been there very long either.

I picked up a pair of these sweet retro teatowels for $1.00.

As there was 2 exactly the same, I got to keep one as a tea-towel and turn the other one into a groovy tote bag. It’s a heavy stiff cotton that keeps a nice shape.

 

I’m not a speedy crafter, but this one took less than an hour.

I made the handles out of the remnants of a pair of jeans I upcycled a couple of years ago. To give it a ‘shabby chic’ look, the handles are simply two strips of denim, folded in half and sewn together with two rows of straight stitches – I’ll put the bag through the wash and the handles will fray nicely.

I took it to the shops today – although I’m starting to develop an intense dislike of large shopping centres (especially on warm days), the bag was the perfect size and the handles the perfect length for a tote. All my purchases fit inside my tote – no need for plastic! Hooray!

 

