A lot of study had to happen, so not much making or baking did for a while there! But here’s a couple of thrifty little things I pulled together recently.

I’ve wanted a potato storer for ages. MBS No.1 has a fancy white ceramic one, which I covet. So I’d been keeping an eye out for large ceramic pots in my op-shop travels, and eventually my eye settled on this plain looking specimen.

image

The Style Consultant had some doubts, but it was either this or the one with teddy bears on it.  So I scrounged around in the hoard and invented what is basically a showercap.

image

Reversible, in case we get bored.

image

So my potatoes and onions are now happily ensconced in their new home.

image

A while back, MBS No.2 gave me a copy of the British craft magazine, Mollie Makes. There were a couple of very cute little projects in there, one of which I earmarked for a healthy-eating friend of mine whose sewing accoutrements didn’t yet include a pincushion.
Another rummage through the hoard yeilded some scraps of fabric (including some bits of vintage sheet previously made into the most comfy lounge pants ever) and just enough stuffing to fill these fruity little guys.

image

Looks like they just fell from the tree!

image

Here they are hard at work already.

image

Not only are they exceedingly cute but they busted my stash of the almost-empty bag of polyfill that’s been hanging around since, um, I don’t even remember what I bought it for!!!

