Hi guys! It’s been a busy week and I didn’t have much time for refashioning for the Refashion Runway sew-along…. well, I’ll be honest, I hadn’t had any inspiration for a denim refashion. If only I hadn’t already posted about my denim jacket!

So, I’m going to totally cheat and share with you a denim refashion I did a few years ago, pre-blog. So, I don’t have any before pictures , but basically I found a pair of high-waisted, tapered-leg denim jeans which I normally would have turned my nose up at, except these ones had zippered ankles – sort of like this…

Except mine had the zipper in the side seam, rather than the middle like these. I remember I had been wanting a short skirt (well, not really  short, more just above the knee, I know how risque right??) and this is what I ended up with.

IMG_6459

So basically, I cut off the legs just where the crotch started to curve. Then I cut off the ankles, above the zipper, and unpicked the inner leg seam to make rectangles with the zippers in the middle.

IMG_6460

I had to add a bit more fabric from the leg to join the zippered sides together, making the skirt which I sewed on to the top of the skirt.

IMG_6462

Then I got some orange topstitch thread that matched the jean’s original topstitching, and coaxed Ms Janome gently through the finishing touches.

I know the denim is all different colours, but I like the way the skirt turned out. I certainly wear it all the time! And if I’m feeling all sultry, I undo the zips.

Woo-hoo!

Woo-hoo!

It’s actually really handy if I want to cycle somewhere but don’t want to get all geared up – like to the local farmer’s market – throw a pair of 3/4 leggings underneath, and the zips mean I can get on and off the bike without having to hike my skirt up! Then I can zip up at my destination and be all demure. To be honest, I usually wear it with leggings – I think it looks really cute with 3/4 leggings and red Converse sneakers!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

