I know, I’ve blogged nothing but sewing for quite some time. But it’s true – I also bake! It’s just that I usually forget to take pictures of my efforts before they are demolished.

In an effort to clear out my pantry prior to an interstate move, I decided to bake a cake for my workmates and use up some ingredients at the same time. And therefore created the Triple Nut Chocolate cake.

It started out as a Chocolate Peanut Butter cake,  using this recipe, but as it turned out I didn’t have quite enough peanut butter. Or enough eggs.  Or any sour cream. So I had to make a few substitutions.

The 3/4 cup of creamy peanut butter became mostly Free-Nut Butter (made from sunflower seeds), the last of the macadamia nut butter, and a dollop of regular peanut butter. The sour cream was replacced by some powdered buttermilk,. The two eggs were understudied by one egg and some extra bi-carb soda.

I baked it in a square tin (because it was the only baking tin I hadn’t packed away) in two lots, so I could make the layer cake. It all nearly came undone when I tried to remove the first cake from the tin a bit too early – you see, the baking paper had been packed away too. It was a non-stick pan though, so I’d hoped it would be okay. Cake almost breaking in the middle = not okay. No worries though – layer cake means the bottom layer can hide a multitude of sins!

