Easter has come and gone, leaving us groaning in the wake of all those chocolate treats…. yes, I totally use Easter as an excuse to eat lots of chocolate that I shouldn’t. Easter Egg chocolate is different to regular chocolate, so you have to take hold of that opportunity!

There were purchased Easter Eggs in my house, but I decided to have a go at something I had been eyeing off for a while – Slow Cooker Fudge!

What’s that, you cry? Fudge that doesn’t require hours of standing and stirring? Fudge that, essentially, makes itself???

DSCF8425

In a word – YES!

It was this recipe, initially spotted on Pinterest, that started the whole process. Posted by The Sugar Free Mom, the original recipe uses a sugar-free dairy-free chocolate – these things aren’t a concern for me though, so I just used regular dark cooking chocolate. Also the original used Stevia, which I didn’t have (and am not a fan of anyway), so I whacked in  some maple syrup instead.

  • 1 pack (375g) dark chocolate melts
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • a generous splash of maple syrup (about a tablespoon)
  • 1-2 tsp peppermint essence (depending on how minty you like it)
  • pinch of salt

Throw all the ingredients in the slow cooker and put it on low for two hours. I gave mine a good stir at the hour mark. Yes, I know you’re not supposed to take the lid off your slow cooker, but the original recipe had two hours in the cooker plus an hour with the lid off. Then after two hours, I took the lid off, stirred, then left the lid off while I prepared a small dish to pour it into.

My slow cooker is a retro 1970’s one – I love it, but it doesn’t have a removable crock! So pouring stuff out is a bit tricky. (If you’re going to be manhandling your slowcooker, make sure you unplug it from the power point first.)

DSCF8430

It doesn’t make a huge batch, but it’s so rich you don’t need to eat too much!

Of course, I immediately became obsessed with the possibilities of slow-cooker fudge, and busted out the white chocolate melts to see if that worked.

  • 1 pack (375g) white chocolate melts
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • 2-3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

DSCF8435

Oh yes. It worked. I was a bit worried because it went lumpy and I thought the chocolate had burned; but I gave this batch a few extra stirs during the cooking time and it turned out beautifully smooth and velvety. It was crazy sweet, the chocolate that I used having a high sugar content, so I’m keen to try it with a better-quality white chocolate.

Now I’m wondering about the possibilities of caramel fudge in the slow cooker…. could it happen? Time will tell…..

 

 

