I must apologise for the scarcity of my blog posts of late. Having moved house only a month or so ago, I am still a) figuring out where stuff goes and b) trying to remember where I put stuff when I was unpacking. Case in point, my camera tripod is apparently on vacation somewhere. This episode of makebakesisters was brought to you by a plastic tub balanced on a chair.

20140601_174250

It’s how I roll.

Anyhoo. Moving right along.

I had this skirt in my refashioning pile. It’s Witchery, made of stretch gaberdine, and it cost me a dollar.

Witchery Pencil Skirt Upcycle 1

I liked the zippers and the assymetrical seaming, but I wasn’t convinced about that weird gather thing at the back there. This skirt hit about 4cm below my chubby knees, which is possibly the most unflattering length a skirt could be on me. At the time I just snatched it up (seriously, $1!!) without trying it on. It’s a size 10.

Now, I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I have more refashionables than I’m ever really going to get around to. So I’m trying to be hard and send stuff back to the op shop. When I dug this skirt out of my stash, I almost didn’t try it on – I haven’t been a size 10 for a few years! But it fit like a dream at my waist and hips, and then of course I couldn’t bear to part with it.

Now, how to make it wearable! First of all, get rid of some of that length.

DSCF8480

You can see my chalk marks where I have drawn in new side seams to create a pencil skirt. I left that gore in at the centre back – it’s stretchy, but I want to be able to walk in it.

Then I made cookies.

Nom nom nom.

Nom nom nom.

These are the easiest cookies in the world – flourless peanut butter. I added choc chips ‘cos I’m crazy like that.

Now, back to that pencil skirt. I sewed the new side seams and stitched up the hem…. and that was it. Done!

So here’s some slightly dodgy photos of the finished product.

DSCF8500

Not only have I no tripod, but I don’t have much light either.

DSCF8506

Hey, you see that classy drapey jacket? Yeah, that one right there. I’ll be bringing that to you next week. Stay tuned.

Now, here’s some pics of the skirt where you can see the detail:

Witchery Pencil Skirt Upcycle 2

That’s better.

Oh, you want the cookie recipe? Okay then!

  • 1 cup peanut butter (smooth or crunchy – I used a combo!
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

Combine first three  ingredients in a medium bowl, then stir in choc chips if using. Roll big teaspoonfuls into balls, place on a baking sheet, and press lightly with a fork. Bake in a moderate over 12-15 minutes or until just golden. Cool on tray for 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack. And just try to keep your hands off them then…..

