Hi folks! Been a while I know. Apologies; life just got in the way. I’ve been doings lots and lots of karate lately, with less time for projects. Consequently, I have lots of UFO’s cluttering up my sewing room.

However I thought I would share with you a recipe I invented a while ago. At the time I scoffed the pancakes before I managed to take any pictures, but I’ve made them again since, and this time had the camera standing by.

DSCF8712

These are based on a recipe from “Gourmet Preserves” by Chez Madelaine. The original used apples and walnuts. Necessity is the mother of invention, and I present to you:

Pumpkin Cashew Nut Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/3 cups milk
  • 1 cup mashed pumpkin*
  • 1/3 cup ricotta cheese, plain yoghurt or sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbs rice bran oil (or other vegetable or nut oil)
  • 2/3 cup roasted unsalted cashews, roughly chopped

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and and spices and stir with a whisk until evenly combined. In a jug, mix together the milk, pumpkin, ricotta, eggs, and oil. Add to the dry ingredients and stir gently until batter comes together. Gently fold in the nuts.

Note – the batter will be very thick. Don’t worry – your pancakes will be perfect!

Heat a large nonstick pan over medium-low heat and spray with a little oil. Use a 1/3-cup measure to pour batter into the pan, allowing room for the pancakes to spread. When bubbles appear on the top, flip the pancakes over and cook until golden.

Serve immediately, or keep warm in very low oven until all pancakes are cooked and ready to serve.

Serve with a tart or very sweet jam or marmalade and a dollop of cream or yoghurt. (Rosella jam was perfect with these! The fruit, not the bird – here’s an example)

*I use freshly steamed mashed pumpkin. In Australia we don’t have the canned pumpkin that’s so ubiquitous in the U.S., but I’m sure this recipe would work if you wanted to use canned pumpkin…. instead of fresh pumpkin….!!! Seriously. Use fresh. It’s better for you.

These pancakes freeze quite well too, pop a couple in a ziplock bag in your freezer for an easy luxury breakfast!

